Armaity Tirandaz wins Bombay Parsi Panchayat seat


April 11, 2016

Post by


Armaity Tirandaz won the one seat up for trusteeship to the Bombay Parsi Panchayat elections (BPP) held across five polling booths in the city on Saturday.


Bombay Parsi Panchayat

An elderly lady at the Bombay Parsi Panchayat polling booth at Colaba’s Cusrow Baug. Pic/Satej Shinde

Early numbers revealed that Tirandaz won by a margin of 50-60 votes. Overall, there was a low turnout, with BPP chairman Yazdi Desai stating that, around 5,000 people must have come out to vote.

Bombay Parsi Panchayat

Crowd gather at Colaba’s Cusrwo Baug. Pic/Satej Shinde

Armaity Rustom Tirandaz, Arnavaz Jal Mistry who have been BPP trustees earlier, and Eric Nariman Dhatigara, Kersi Gustad Sethna and Ervad Rayomand Burzor Joshi, who have thrown their hat into the ring for the first time, were contesting for the seat.

Bombay Parsi Panchayat

An old lady at the polling booth. Pic/Satej Shinde

The BPP put up polling booths at Cusrow Baug Colaba, Khareghat Colony, Hughes Road, Dadar Parsi Colony, Rustom Baug Byculla, and Bharucha Baug in Andheri.