Dr. Keiki Mehta Honored at American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Congress 2014


June 19, 2014

Post by


Two Luminaries in the Field of Ophthalmology Named Honored Guests at the 2014 Annual ASCRS-ASOA Symposium and Congress in Boston

Keiki_R_Mehta Two physicians who have made significant contributions to the field of ophthalmology will receive the Honored Guest Award at the 2014 ASCRS-ASOA Annual Symposium and Congress April 25-29, 2013, in Boston.

Dr. Keiki Mehta, a leading ophthalmic surgeon in India, and Dr.Philip Hessburg, of Minnesota, one of the country’s most respected ophthalmologic experts, will be this year’s Honored Guests. Both will be recognized at the Opening General Session at the annual meeting.

Dr. Keiki Mehta, a prolific teacher and clinician, is one of India’s top eye surgeons and a pioneer in cataract and refractive surgery in the region.

In addition to his clinical practice, Dr. Mehta conducts free eye camps nationwide, is chairman of the Low Vision Centre at Maharashtra, and runs a 25-bed, free eye hospital in a rural area of Karjat. Dr. Mehta is currently Medical Director and Chief of Surgery for the Mehta International Eye Institute and Colaba Eye Hospital, which he founded and which is now considered to be Asia’s most advanced ophthalmic institute. He also holds a professorship at the D. Y. Patil Medical College and Hospital in Mumbai and serves as Chairman and Organizing secretary of the EyeAdvance Congresses.

Over the course of his long and distinguished career, Dr. Mehta performed the first intraocular implant and the first LASIK procedure in India and has earned a reputation as the “Father of Indian Phacoemulsification” for his efforts in that field. Dr. Mehta has also operated live on Video Cataracta, Europe’s largest live surgery conference, held in Milan, Italy.

Dr. Mehta’s numerous awards include the American Implant Society’s prestigious Appreciation Award for creation of the first soft intraocular lens implant, and the National Eye Research Foundation’s Grand Honors Award for ophthalmology research, the only Indian ever to receive the award.

Full report: ASCRS